Sweet Black Waves

sweetblackwaves

Release date: June 5th, 2018
Publisher: Imprint/Macmillan
 

 

Add to Goodreads

 

Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart.

Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what’s right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her closet confidant and the only man she’s ever loved.

Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.

Praise for SWEET BLACK WAVES:

“Sail away to romance and wild magic and chivalrous tournaments in this retelling of Tristan and Iseult. SWEET BLACK WAVES is intense, swoon worthy, and smart. Kristina Pérez trained as a medieval historian and linguist, and it shows – the worldbuilding is utterly convincing. But her imagination pushes further, into caves with magic cauldrons, and doldrum seas, where something nasty might crawl out of the those sweet black waves, bent on revenge.”

––Vic James, author of GILDED CAGE

Comments are closed.