A feminist triumph…Pérez’s alternative medieval world is immersive and detailed, her prose lush with mystical symbolism…the real climax occurs when Branwen learns to accept her own intrinsic worth and destiny. By the bittersweet ending, she has earned her choices. - Kirkus

The Sweet Black Waves Trilogy


Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents.

When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what’s right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her closest confidant and the only man she’s ever loved.

Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.

“Kristina Pérez’s writing is evocative and immersive…inventive and intriguing.”
– Tor.com

“Pérez’s characters are complex, and the bond authentic…Pérez close with a devastating cliff-hanger that will leave readers eager for a sequel.”
Publishers Weekly


– Buy Sweet Black Waves

– Buy Wild Savage Stars

– Buy Bright Raven Skies


“Pérez is at her best…profound.” - Booklist